Reverie Harp 2
Karen
02/20/2018
Verified Buyer
I first learned about reverie harps from a music therapist who visited my mothers memory care facility. The sounds she made just by strumming or plucking the strings moved my soul and made me want one of my own. I ordered the Reverie 2 that day, and received it three days later. I could not be happier with it. Playing it is a perfect way to start and end my day, and I can now share it with my mom and some of the other residents. Thank you, Musicmakers, for this beautiful instrument and your excellent customer service.
Was this helpful?
Great kit!
Matt
02/12/2018
Verified Buyer
This is the first instrument that I have built. I am also relatively new at woodworking. This was a ton of fun to build. I enjoyed the process. The instructions are clear and well written. The instrument came out beautifully and sounds wonderful. I cannot say enough good things about my experience.
Was this helpful?
Quality in product and service
Gary Manfready
02/06/2018
Verified Buyer
I have been purchasing items from Musicmakers for a year or so. Each and every order has been promptly and accurately delivered. I have also made use of their advice and instruction. Responses to my questions have been made quickly and very informative. This company is to be praised for the quality they provide through their Internet service.
Was this helpful?
Looks Very Impressive When Done
Don Werdin from Illinois
02/05/2018
Hello. I enjoyed assembling and finishing the reverie harp. This was my fourth or fifth kit from your company and I have never been disappointed. I do like the selection of the wood for this kit and must say that it looks very impressive now that it is done. I continue to play with it and like the sounds that it can produce. A person at the church that I go to was so enthralled with the harp that she wanted to know more about your company, so I gave her the catalog that you sent along with the kit. There is a chance that she will want me to assemble a harp for her. Thanks again, and I am fairly sure there is at least one if not two more kits for me to assemble in the future.
Was this helpful?
C3 Harp String
Darlene Woods
02/03/2018
Verified Buyer
I broke the original string when installing it on my Voyageur Harp that I built from the Music Makers kit. I also ordered a C3 to be on the safe side, because I was afraid I had damaged that one. My order arrived sooner than I expected and the new D3 string went on smoothly. After gradually and carefully tuning it over a period of time, it is now holding pitch and plays beautifully!
Was this helpful?
A Fun, rewarding experience
Jayne Piepenburg
02/02/2018
Hey Matt!!! I finished my harp kit!!!! It turned out so well!!! THANK YOU FOR ALL THE HELP --- I really couldn't have done it without the excellent instructions and the EXCELLENT VIDEOS!!! The extent of my woodworking experience had been refinishing some furniture years ago and as far as my musical ability, I've never played or tuned an instrument in my life, but with your instructions, videos and patient, supportive emails I WAS SUCCESSFUL!!! It really is a beautiful, beautiful instrument -- to look at, to play and to listen to! The kit was challenging, but not overwhelming, especially when I could contact you with any questions. The sanding and watching the grain of the beautiful wood start to show and seeing the harp take shape was really a rewarding part of it. I only had a Black & Decker palm sander and no router so it took a while to get the curve of the edges just the way I wanted, but I took my time and I was quite pleased with the result. I loved the feel of the smooth cherry and mahogany and loved the smell of sawdust (which was pink!). I had my brother-in-law use his drill press to drill the holes. I thought the harp was pretty when I was all done sanding, but when that first coat of finish went on, it was just gorgeous, it really was a thrill to see how pretty an instrument it was. During the stringing of the harp, I literally had your video playing over and over and over as I was installing the strings. The first one was tough and took me a while, but each one got a little easier to do and I was a little less clumsy at it, and by the last one I was far from an expert at it, but it went pretty well. The tuning baffled me at first and I had to walk away from it for a day. I listened to your video over and over, I listened to the online tuner and it just wasn't clicking with me and my harp was just sounding reeeeeeally bad. I'm not sure what I was doing wrong, I would get the electronic tuner to play the right note on the template under the string, but I must have been skipping around octaves or something, but it was bad. When I tried again, I put it together in my mind (and it maybe would be obvious to somebody who reads music or is experienced playing an instrument or is just plain smarter than me) that the D5 on string 2 should sound exactly like the D5 on string 21, the C5 on 3 and C5 on 20 should sound the same, etc, and then it all came together and it was beautiful! My family and especially my Mom seemed pretty impressed that I built the harp. I gave it to the hospice in Litchfield in memory of my Dad and sister and hopefully it'll bring many hours of enjoyment and comfort to those that use it. I'm attaching an article the local paper wrote up on the gift. Thank you for the help Matt, everyone at Musicmakers was just so nice, it really was a fun, rewarding experience.
Was this helpful?
Looking forward to sharing it
Rob and Nancy
02/02/2018
The Reverie Harp Kit went together with success, even for someone without a lot of woodworking skills or background. We are finding it very beautiful to look at and soothing to play. It will be used in a hospice situation and we're really looking forward to sharing it with the patients and staff. The Director suggested that it's first assignment could be in an empty patient room that seems to have a tendency to collect "bad vibes". Maybe we can change the feelings that seem to linger in the room to encourage more positive thoughts :-) Thanks so much for a great product and a wonderful opportunity to share something good with others during one of life's most difficult times.
Was this helpful?
My Kids Love It
Lisa
02/02/2018
Thank you. I purchased the Reverie Harp Kit and have just finished it a few days ago. It is hard to put down, as the sound is so soothing. It is also nice to have my young children be able to play it and make beautiful sounds without knowing anything about scales yet. As for building tips -- my router is still packed away from a recent move, so I used a hand-held mini planer for trimming the front and back. Much faster than sanding and worked perfectly. Will be back for more in the future! Thanks again
Was this helpful?
Can't Part with My Limerick Harp
Paula Bhagyam
01/28/2018
I am building a Jolie Harp, but I am very attached to the Limerick Harp I made 7 years ago. It has a great sound and is easy to haul around. So glad I dared to make one using a kit. Not hard!
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
reverie harp classic
GAREN SIMMONS
01/25/2018
Verified Buyer
Truly a wonderful instrument, Good craftmanship and sound quality10 stars. Thanks.
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
A harp to truly love!
Janice Mineer
01/25/2018
Verified Buyer
I love my Jolie Hybrid harp! I have gone through several harps from a variety of manufacturers looking for the perfect combination of sound, beauty and functionality. It's only 13 pounds! Perfect for my aging back, making it a snap to put in and take out of my car (which I do many times a day.) It has a big sound--surprising for a harp of this size! A rich, warm sweet voice with a nice long sustain. And I was so pleased to find how easy it was on my hands to play this harp! The aching in my fingers was threatening to stop my playing. What a relief to play this harp. The team at Music Makers--especially Jacob--went out of their way to customize my harp shape and to select the most gorgeous woods. They were endlessly patient with my myriad of questions. The lights are a must and so pretty. They create a lovely ambiance while illuminating my hands and music so I can play. The sound pick up works amazingly well--a clear, clean sound with lots of power. And even though I haul it around in my car all day, it stays in tune very well. I couldn't be happier. Thank you Music Makers for your dedication to bringing us the newest technology and preserving the classic beauty and rich sound of the harp!
3 of 3 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Success!!
Jayne
01/18/2018
Verified Buyer
I finished my harp kit!!!! It turned out so well!!! THANK YOU FOR ALL THE HELP --- I really couldn't have done it without the excellent instructions and the EXCELLENT VIDEOS!!! The extent of my woodworking experience had been refinishing some furniture years ago and as far as my musical ability, I've never played or tuned an instrument in my life, but with your instructions, videos and patient, supportive emails I WAS SUCCESSFUL!!! It really is a beautiful, beautiful instrument -- to look at, to play and to listen to! The kit was challenging, but not overwhelming, especially when I could contact you with any questions. The sanding and watching the grain of the beautiful wood start to show and seeing the harp take shape was really a rewarding part of it. I only had a Black & Decker palm sander and no router so it took a while to get the curve of the edges just the way I wanted, but I took my time and I was quite pleased with the result. I loved the feel of the smooth cherry and mahogany and loved the smell of sawdust (which was pink!). I had my brother-in-law use his drill press to drill the holes. I thought the harp was pretty when I was all done sanding, but when that first coat of finish went on, it was just gorgeous, it really was a thrill to see how pretty an instrument it was. During the stringing of the harp, I literally had your video playing over and over and over as I was installing the strings. The first one was tough and took me a while, but each one got a little easier to do and I was a little less clumsy at it, and by the last one I was far from an expert at it, but it went pretty well. The tuning baffled me at first and I had to walk away from it for a day. I listened to your video over and over, I listened to the online tuner and it just wasn't clicking with me and my harp was just sounding reeeeeeally bad. I'm not sure what I was doing wrong, I would get the electronic tuner to play the right note on the template under the string, but I must have been skipping around octaves or something, but it was bad. When I tried again, I put it together in my mind (and it maybe would be obvious to somebody who reads music or is experienced playing an instrument or is just plain smarter than me) that the D5 on string 2 should sound exactly like the D5 on string 21, the C5 on 3 and C5 on 20 should sound the same, etc, and then it all came together and it was beautiful! My family and especially my Mom seemed pretty impressed that I built the harp. I gave it to the hospice in Litchfield in memory of my Dad and sister and hopefully it'll bring many hours of enjoyment and comfort to those that use it. I'm attaching an article the local paper wrote up on the gift. Thank you for the help Matt, everyone at Musicmakers was just so nice, it really was a fun, rewarding experience.
Was this helpful?
Beautiful Instrument
Rob
01/18/2018
Verified Buyer
The Reverie Harp Kit went together with success, even for someone without a lot of woodworking skills or background. We are finding it very beautiful to look at and soothing to play. It will be used in a hospice situation and we're really looking forward to sharing it with the patients and staff. The Director suggested that it's first assignment could be in an empty patient room that seems to have a tendency to collect "bad vibes". Maybe we can change the feelings that seem to linger in the room to encourage more positive thoughts :-) Thanks so much for a great product and a wonderful opportunity to share something good with others during one of life's most difficult times. Rob and Nancy
Was this helpful?
Great Kit
Lisa
01/18/2018
Verified Buyer
Thank you. I purchased the Reverie Harp Kit and have just finished it a few days ago. It is hard to put down, as the sound is so soothing. It is also nice to have my young children be able to play it and make beautiful sounds without knowing anything about scales yet. As for building tips -- my router is still packed away from a recent move, so I used a hand-held mini planer for trimming the front and back. Much faster than sanding and worked perfectly. Will be back for more in the future!
Was this helpful?
TUNING WRENCH FOR ZITHER PINS
Mary B. Carlisle
01/16/2018
Verified Buyer
ORDERED TWO TUNING WRENCHES FOR ZITHER PINS IN ADDITION TO SEVERAL OTHER ITEMS. ONE WOODEN HANDLE WAS SHATTERED.
Very sorry to hear about the shattered handle. That is the first time I've ever heard of this happening. We would be happy to refund the cost of that wrench or send you a free replacement.
Was this helpful?
Spring steel for making kalimbas
Terry Beck
01/16/2018
Verified Buyer
Excellent material for kalimbas. Good price. Especially good that it's offered in any amount you want. Quick service!
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Beautiful
Johann Peterson
01/16/2018
Verified Buyer
Beautiful sound, and very nice-looking instrument. Download the chord sheet from harpkit.
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Great kit
JMP
01/16/2018
Verified Buyer
My 12 year old and I had a wonderful time building this kit. Two inexperienced woodworkers were able to build a very nice instrument. The instructions are outstanding.
Was this helpful?
Baritone uke X 2
Krishna Lester
01/15/2018
Verified Buyer
I have built two of them. Sadly the neck on one wasn't really straight, a bit warped and I had a couple of problems with the cut of the sides on one but the resulting sound is great. Just check all the bits when they arrive and don't try and rush it !!! Overall very satisfying and well conceived.
Sorry about any parts that didn't measure up. If this ever happens again - please call or email and we can get you replacement parts right away. Glad to hear that you persevered!
Was this helpful?
baritone uke
John McNutt
01/10/2018
Verified Buyer
I ran into some problems with the size of some of the pieces. The corner blocks were shorter than the ribs. So the inlay bandings covered it up. Also where the neck fits. The up and down length was about 3/16th to short. and the tail block was to short. Other wise it a very nice kit, and have it all together and putting finish on it now.
Was this helpful?
Excellent Kit
Amanda
01/09/2018
Verified Buyer
I managed to make the Jolie Harp without any kind of workshop (as I don't have one). I am thrilled. I really enjoyed the process of construction, and I came to discover that I really enjoyed hand sanding and feeling the finish of the wood with my fingers. I got to play it yesterday for the first time and am extremely pleased. The sound is bright and yet resonant. I made this harp, as my way of helping a woman, who wants to undertake music therapy, and this was the most cost-effective option that I could find. I think this harp is superb and will do the job beautifully. I may want to do this again sometime in the future.
Was this helpful?
Makes a great sounding kalimba
Ken Ellis
01/08/2018
Verified Buyer
Good quality parts. I've bought over 150 of these sets. Just a few things to look out for if you are really picky: The kit comes with 15 tines. I generally use 12 for a more ergonomic spacing. The ends of the tines are bent down some for more comfortable playing than straight tines, but they are still a little hard on your thumbs. I would like the ends to be bent a little more to give them a smoother feel. The brass parts tend to be longer than the wood bridge piece, but if you make the body wide enough, this doesn't matter. Finally, the wood bridge pieces are nicely machined and have a smooth finish. The ends are angled a bit and I don't know if this has a function or not (maybe so the tines can be splayed), but I always straighten them up on the disc sander so the ends are perpendicular to the sides. To me it just looks neater.
Was this helpful?
Inlays
Daniel Yost
01/06/2018
Verified Buyer
Excellent. It works perfect and I happy with the results.
Was this helpful?
What those strings are called
Oscar Stern
01/05/2018
I say that those mandolin strings are made by Martin the best company of strings & instruments
Was this helpful?
Strumbly Kit
G. Snyman
12/29/2017
Verified Buyer
I am quite pleased with the kit. Parts were cut well and fit together well. Will definitely be buying other products.
Was this helpful?
Home made Hammered Dulcimer
Sean
12/23/2017
Verified Buyer
I wanted a better look for my hammered dulcimer than the screws that are provided in the hardware kit for the 9/8 hammered dulcimer. These are perfect.
Was this helpful?
Mini Hammered Dulcimer Complete Hardware
Dallas Haner
12/23/2017
Verified Buyer
I'm very pleased with the hardware.The web site doesn't say what's included but when they say complete they mean complete. I thought I might have to come up with the delrin rods and brass rods on my own. (no one in my area seems to know what a delrin rod is). But, they were all in the kit. It even has a tuning key.Thanks MM.
Was this helpful?
So happy with my new psaltery!
Denise
12/21/2017
Verified Buyer
Beautiful instrument, delightful sound and excellent service from Musicmakers. I am looking forward to playing it in baroque and medieval ensembles.
Was this helpful?
harp plans
kenneth harvey
12/21/2017
Verified Buyer
wonderfull fast service,I will stay with musicmakers for any spare parts i may need
Was this helpful?
Kinnor Rosette
Robert Aldridge
12/20/2017
Verified Buyer
very nice product, timely shipping
Was this helpful?
Harp lights
12/19/2017
Verified Buyer
Best idea ever. Love them.
Was this helpful?
Not really satisfying
Stefanie Bieber
12/15/2017
Verified Buyer
I bought the harp Wheels for my Dusty Strings FH36. It seemed to be a good idea and a much cheaper solution than buying the very expensive Harpo, even considering the high shipping costs to Germany. The first surprise was that I had to pay another 45 € for customs when the Wheels arrived. Okay, nothing can be done about that, but it would have been helpful to have the information about that before the order. I tried to fix the wheels to my Dusty Strings Bag and it did not really work with rubber straps as shown in the video. They are much too loose, so that the wheels fall off when lifting the harp up the stairs or into the car. I found a quite complicated technique to fix the wheels to to the harp bag, but then the next problem appeared: the Dusty Strings Bag dos not have a handle on the backside but only on the front side of the bag. So it is quite unsafe to roll the harp around because it can easily slip away and fall. So all in all I have spent too much money on a - for me- kind of useless tool. :o( The idea basically seems to be clever but it only works with the music makers bags or with a lot of (expensive) additional adjustments like shown in Susan's review. My final estimation is: not of good use or of good prize for the European customer.
Sorry to hear about this. There isn't much we can do about customs and we try to make it clear that overseas customers will be responsible for import duties taxes and customs. It can be a challenge to use our wheels with bags from other makers. Usually folks can get them to work well enough for standard use but getting the wheels to remain attached while lifting the harp or going up and down steps with the wheels is a challenge indeed.
4 of 5 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Review of Tenor Banjo Kit - Chicago tuning
Paul Davis
12/05/2017
Verified Buyer
Great woods, hardware and instructions. I wish there was more info on fret leveling and tuning the head, but I found those things elsewhere. Great sounding instrument!
Was this helpful?
Lovely instrument
Suzi Scholtz
12/02/2017
I have a harp like this, but right-shoulder. It has a lovely sound and I am very pleased with it. Would recommend to any beginner, or anyone that needs a moderately mobile instrument.
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Finishing touch
Anthony Walker
11/28/2017
Verified Buyer
Beautiful finishing touch on my dulcimer.
Was this helpful?
One Fine Harp!
Marilyn Johnson CMP, CTHP
11/20/2017
Verified Buyer
I have been a harp performer, teacher and therapeutic harp practitioner for several years. During this time I have played and/or owned several fine instruments. Thanks to Jacob Nelson of Musicmakers in Stillwater MN, I now own a harp that fulfills all of my harp expectations. The Jolie hybrid is lightweight, attractive with a beautiful finish, and easy to play with just the right string spacing and tension. Above all, the combination of wood and carbon fiber produces a lovely sound. A Big Thank you to Jacob Nelson and the Musicmakers staff, for being creative leaders in the harp world! Marilyn Johnson CMP, CTHP(Certified Music Practitioner, Certified Therapeutic Harp Practitioner)
12 of 12 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Great!
Terry Jones
11/18/2017
Verified Buyer
The kit has everything you need to make your dulcimer play! It’s great!
Was this helpful?
Very nice!
Terry Jones
11/15/2017
This was not hard to built if you have any woodworking experience at all. It was a fun build and would recommend it wholeheartedly. I now have a mini dulcimer to practice with and will most likely build the 17/16 at some point. Thanks so much for the free plans!
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Harp Strings
Shannon
11/14/2017
I only needed a few strings as mine had broken but the price was fair and now I will have more when I need them. The strings came marked and with a paper to tell where they went. There was also a paper telling how to install them. The only hard part was getting the knots tight enough.
Was this helpful?
Hognose Psaltery Kit
George S
11/04/2017
Verified Buyer
I ordered the hognose psaltery kit to build with my son who is four-and-a-half. It arrived very quickly and everything was as expected. It went together very easily and we stained it a mustard yellow before protecting it with polyurethane. It looks and sounds great. Few tools were needed aside from a drill, a few clamps and a sander. We made a simple drill jig so the tuning pin holes would be all the same and used a fine flushcut saw to trim the box sides but you could do without those. Great kit to try out instrument building and gain some practical experience! We also have the mountain dulcimer kit to try next :)
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Great
Johann
11/01/2017
Verified Buyer
This works very well. It's solid and big enough to turn smoothly. I had a smaller brass wrench from a different supplier and it got stripped almost immediately.
Was this helpful?
good value for strings
Dieter
10/28/2017
The strings were good value and appropriate for my project.
Was this helpful?
Very lovely instrument!
Joshua Koda
10/27/2017
Verified Buyer
This lovely instrument sounds as great as it looks; the craftmen ship and the tone of this Psaltery is simple sublime. Will definitely recommend others to purchase this!
Was this helpful?
Blind and happy.
Nancy McCulley
10/21/2017
Verified Buyer
What a beautiful piece of art. Not only does it entertain my now blindmother and allow her to use her hands to make music. Beautiful music without training or that she has to read. But it’s gorgeous to look at and feel beneath my fingers. I’m going to have a metal plaque made with her name engraved on it then glue it on the back. Thank you for making my Moms restless hands feel useful.
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Great DVD!
Mary Barden
10/16/2017
Verified Buyer
I purchased the Reverie harp kit along with the dvd for my daughter who is a hospice nurse as a Christmas gift. While my husband is building the kit, I decided to watch the dvd to learn more about the harp. After watching, I feel in love with the harp. The dvd was instructional on various strumming techniques and how to use the harp in different settings. This DVD answered my questions in that respect and also gave me new ideas about how it could be used. After viewing this DVD I am considering purchasing another Reverie harp kit for myself.
11 of 11 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Great Products
James Boyd
10/16/2017
Verified Buyer
Hi Guys and Gals,and good day from Australia. I have received my Strumbly kit and other bits in good order and in very good time,and I am very pleased with my purchases and eagerly await my second order of a Psalmodikon and bowed Psaltery. You can also expect an order of a chord harp kit very soon. I have recently retired and although I have not played any instruments except a harmonica, badly I should add. Anyhoo I have always liked folk music and I am keen to play a few traditional songs for my own and hopefully my families enjoyment. You people look like you really enjoy your work and I like the fact there is no hard sell attitude to your site. I have been telling all and sundry about your site so hopefully you might get some more orders from this neck of the woods. Cheers and regards, James [ Jim] Boyd.
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Buy this harp!
Erin McLean
10/08/2017
I have been playing a gut-strung harp for nine years. I was always impressed with the warm sound, but it was a HEAVY instrument. I had also been researching a carbon fiber harp, but the price point was out of my range. Enter the Jolie Hybrid! I had the opportunity to play on my harp teacher's Jolie and loved the rich, yet bright sound. Shortly after, I learned that Musicmakers had a new hybrid model making the original so much lighter. This is truly a remarkable harp. The perfect string tension leads to an easy touch allowing for more speed, and accuracy with ornaments. Though it is extremely portable, the sound is not at all compromised. It is by far the most beautiful sounding harp I have tried. If you are at all on the fence about buying this model, fear not! You will be more than impressed. Buy this harp!
16 of 16 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Perfect for my Reverie Harp!
Peggy Helminiak
10/06/2017
Verified Buyer
Okay, I bought a Reverie harp with a carry bag. Don't need a stand for the harp, right? WRONG! You will want a stand for your harp. Why, you ask? First of all, the Reverie harp is pretty and matching stand just looks lovely sitting on a table or bookcase. Second, you will want to play your harp for quiet little moments and will quickly become annoyed that you have to get the case and unzip it and take the harp out. make life easy on yourself - get the harp stand!
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Wheels for my Harp
Kathryn Pitkin
10/05/2017
Verified Buyer
I am delighted with my wheels. I was beginning to find it difficult to carry my harp, but the wheels make moving the harp easy and safe. The wheels are beautifully made, easy to use and arrived from overseas within a week. I love my new wheels. Thank you.
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Is this available as a kit, or plans for sale?
Jeanne Hintze
10/03/2017
Interested in Cross strung kit; Gothic Harp with a nylon strings and lower tension and neck and pilar design seems like it could become a cross strung??? I also love the looks of your Regency harp with the pillar forward of the sound board... keep hoping? :)
Was this helpful?
Pintite
Bernard
09/23/2017
Verified Buyer
Only buy if you need a few drops of Pintite. Bottle is deceiving - it certainly isn't full. Even the picture of the amount in the bottle is deceiving -there is less than half the amount that the picture shows.
Hi Bernard - Sorry that you received such a small amount of pintite. We are going to change our procedure for filling those bottles to make the amount more consistent. I will refund the cost of the pintite. Again, sorry for the our error.
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Reveri Harps
Jean Shackelford
09/16/2017
The reverie harp is better then expected. Truly a wonderful instrument, ,has a sound like no other. Worth every Dollar.
4 of 4 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Brilliant invention!
Anita
09/04/2017
Verified Buyer
These "wheels" are a brilliant invention. If there were 10 stars I would give 10. Working in a hospital for me means walking around carrying my harp and at the end of the day aching shoulders back and arms. The wheels have solved the problem. No more stress carrying the instrument, no pain, just the sheer joy of playing the harp with no worries. The wheels are beautifully made and arrived in Australia in record time, beautifully packed and ready to go. The wood is also amazing. Thank you.
5 of 5 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Cardboard dulcimer
GW Mapp
09/01/2017
All good
3 of 4 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Felt Heart Pick
DeEdra Stiles
08/30/2017
Verified Buyer
I really like the Felt Heart Pick which give my 🎼Reverie Harp 2🎼 a sultry/smokey sound. It would be great if the felt on the Felt Heart Picks came in more colors just like the pick in the center of the Felt Heart Pick.😊
3 of 3 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Lovely Harp
Sally
08/29/2017
Verified Buyer
Sweet little harp for use in personal prayer or nursing home/hospice work.
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Tuning wrench for zither pins
Mike Davis
08/27/2017
Verified Buyer
I built a hammered dulcimer from MusicMakers plans and used the Musicmakers hardware kit. Bought this wrench to tune it with. Fit perfectly. Right price, Right delivery time. Absolutely no problems.
Was this helpful?
It is perfect
Chris Blaicher
08/26/2017
I got the large size for my wife's Dusty Strings orphan FH-34 and asked for it to be unfinished. A D-S orphan harp is made from several different woods, hers has a bubinga base and front post. I stained and varnished it to match the bubinga. The base makes the harp even more stable. It is great.
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
The Jolie Hybrid, what a wonderful harp!!
Amelia Gerlach
08/25/2017
Verified Buyer
So, I started out renting this harp on my summer visit to Minnesota, and it blew me away - I just had to buy it!! I love everything about it - the beautiful, resonant sound; the incredibly light weight - I had always dreamed of a harp I could carry around myself and not have to depend on my husband to help me!; the hand-friendly string tension; the Truitt levers and sleek design, with beautiful mahogany wood. Simply, I'm in love! Thanks, Musicmakers, for building such an awesome harp!!
39 of 40 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Perfect!
Sparrow Theis
08/24/2017
Verified Buyer
I ordered these levers, they arrived quickly and in perfect condition, thanks!
2 of 3 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Reverie Harp 2
DeEdra Stiles
08/16/2017
Verified Buyer
I am so Impressed with the High Quality Craftsmanship and the High Quality Sound of the Reverie Harp 2, the Tones are Wonderful! The "Megahertz" produced by the Reverie Harp 2 is quit soothing to my Spirit that goes way back to Biblical times with King David who was a Exceptional Harpist! I am so happy to own the Reverie Harp 2 which will be well used for relaxation and physical healing.
14 of 14 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Wow you have such a variety of specialized products.
Jim Holland
08/11/2017
Verified Buyer
I have had three purchases from this Company with no problems. I purchased wire strings for my harp and it was simple online plus the wire strings do sound brighter which I like. Just pay attention while restringing or those dam ends will poke you and you will wonder where the blood came from!
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Great Company!
Jim Holland
08/11/2017
Verified Buyer
The nylon strings have a good sound and are very durable. With the few coloured ones this will be helpful on the fly. The extra maintenance supplies are a God send. Everything I have bought has worked well including the ordering and delivery. Thanks
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Peace and calm in a bag!
Peggy Helminiak
08/07/2017
Verified Buyer
I first saw a Reverie harp during the Virtual Harp Summit and thought "how nice", but had absolutely no plans to buy one. But, the idea kept niggling at me... then I started watching the YouTube videos and started thinking "I might need one of those..." Then I decided that I needed more peace and calm in my life and the idea of owning one became an itch and then a craving. I have both a pedal and a lever harp, but sometimes one just needs to sit back with a little harp on one's chest and pluck random strings and make "soul music" - music that promotes peace and calm. Super-fast shipping and, after stalking the harp via the delivery tracking info, I got it, pulled it out of the packaging and promptly lost a half hour in delightful "reverie". Aptly named! It is my daily meditation now...
9 of 9 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Beautiful and portable
Marlou Russell, psychologist
08/06/2017
Verified Buyer
A truly beautiful instrument in so many ways. Really like the shape, size, and sound. I am not a musician and neither are some of the people I work with so I was looking for a harp that is portable and playable by all. This definitely fits the bill! When held, the harp vibrates and resonates thru the body in a very healing and soothing way. It allows spontaneous compositions and exploration. And the gig bag makes it easy to take anywhere. Thank you for creating a harp that is truly accessible to all.
12 of 12 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
ready made kantele
michael katz
08/03/2017
Verified Buyer
beautiful to look at, well made and beautiful wood. Beautiful to play; it sounds so hauntingly mystical and actually far better than over your site. thank you.
Was this helpful?
The Jolie Hybrid, what a wonderful harp!!
Amelia Gerlach
07/28/2017
Verified Buyer
So, I started out renting this harp on my summer visit to Minnesota, and it blew me away - I just had to buy it!! I love everything about it - the beautiful, resonant sound; the incredibly light weight - I had always dreamed of a harp I could carry around myself and not have to depend on my husband to help me!; the hand-friendly string tension; the Truitt levers and sleek design, with beautiful mahogany wood. Simply, I'm in love! Thanks, Musicmakers, for building such an awesome harp!!
5 of 5 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Wonderful Carry-Along with a Big Sound
Caroline Kasting
07/24/2017
I've been playing the harp for about 12 years. I started with a 29-string student model, then got a 22-string lap harp to travel with. What I discovered was that I was more inclined to play the smaller harp because it was more convenient than going to another room where there was room for my larger harp. I had been wanting a new harp, so after some reflection I decided that what I really wanted was a slightly bigger lap harp that would have a bigger, richer sound than my 22-string. I like to make things, so I bought the Limerick Lap Harp kit (in walnut) and put it together in my spare time over the course of a year. The body went together quickly and easily (in an afternoon). The instruction booklet was extremely detailed, and if I had a question, I would email Musicmakers and get a quick response. Nowadays, Musicmakers has posted how-to videos on how to assemble their instruments on their web site, too, so there are plenty of resources if you have trouble. They also have a wonderful return policy where they will finish the instrument for you if you get in completely over your head. What took the most time for me was achieving the perfect painting on the sound board and waiting for the strings to hold their pitch. Right away, the Limerick had a beautiful, rich tone, especially in the bass. Over the course of the last three years, as the wood and strings have settled and stretched, the sound has become warmer and bigger. I also recently installed a Dusty Harp Pickup so that I could be heard in a band setting, and it has done a wonderful job of amplifying the harp's authentic sound. I love this harp. And I love hearing someone else playing it because I can enjoy its sound more from across the room than I can when my attention is split between listening and playing. I did make a couple of minor changes: I put leather washers behind the string knots (instead of the plastic beads included in the kit) and added red and blue lever rings on the C and F levers. I also tuned it to the key of Eb to be able to play in the widest variety of common key signatures. I successfully play my Limerick with my church praise band. The harp fits easily in the trunk, back seat, or foot well behind the front seats of my car. I am a bit of a klutz, though, so I am constantly banging the wide end against stuff when I carry the gig bag over my shoulder.
5 of 5 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Unsatisfied
Ron Stephens
07/24/2017
Verified Buyer
For the most part the digital download is good except when it comes to condescending what the actual pdf manual says for types of wood used. Also very unsatisfied with lack of information given for the dimensions for the bottom and soundboard. Last but not least would be a good idea to let buyers of digital copies know that with the purchase of the mailed plans they receive templates I would have gone that way other than digital.
Yes, digital copies are hard to use. You can print them out full size on multiple sheets of standard letter size paper and tape the pieces together for making full-size templates. We have a link to printing instructions on our web site. Also, if you take the file to a copier service (such as Kinko's), they can make a full-size "working copy" for you on large paper. One copy is permissible with your digital purchase. Finally, if you pay for the postage, we would be happy to send you the printed version since you already paid for the digital version.
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Start playing real songs fast!
Mary Hagerty
07/17/2017
Verified Buyer
This is an excellent beginner book for being able to play hymns. My daughter played just the chords on a piano, my one son is learning the violin, my other son is learning the guitar, and my daughter is learning the guitar as well. And I sang :) We were able to play Amazing Grace within a half an hour! And I kept on playing just the background chords on the piano, singing along, and was able to learn 9 songs just today! Thanks so much, we are going to play a few songs at church in a couple weeks, even though we are beginners.
1 of 1 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Outstanding!
Elaine Pontious
07/10/2017
Verified Buyer
These wheels will make a big difference in my hospice work. It is a simple looking device from a brilliant design idea that anyone with a folk harp would welcome. The 'heavy lifting' part of my work has been greatly reduced -- thank you!
3 of 3 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Reverie harp brings inspiration
Rebecca A
07/07/2017
Verified Buyer
My friend loaned me her Reverie about 2 months ago, and I just HAD to own one myself. I'm totally overwhelmed by how beautiful and melodious, not to mention easy to play, this instrument is. The workmanship is extremely high caliber, and the egg shape is perfect for hugging it to my torso to play it, I love the way it vibrates through my body. I primarily use it to help my husband who has a chronic illness, but it's also good just for me. The sound is soothing and inspirational. I keep it in pentatonic tuning, so I can play mindlessly and still have a wonderful experience. Thank you for your dedication to excellence and for your careful packaging and speedy shipping. I found my interactions with you smooth, responsive, and most helpful. Thanks!
11 of 11 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Harp Desk
Lynda Jardine, CMP
06/29/2017
Verified Buyer
I love this harp desk. As a Therapeutic Musician, going in and out of hospital rooms to play for patients it is easy and efficient. I couldn't have known I would love it so much! Thank You MusicMakers!
2 of 3 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
What a gift!
Maria Dummermuth
06/24/2017
Verified Buyer
I received my Reverie Harp and am so excited to share this wonderful gift with my clients and so many more. I have never played the harp, or even a string instrument for that matter, and this is such an easy wonderful way to convey sound. I practice Singing Bowl Sound Therapy in Cedar Rapids Iowa and have been adding this to work with clients and it has been a huge hit. I can't wait to see where this gift takes me!
6 of 6 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Everything is great!
06/13/2017
Verified Buyer
Super SUPER great instructions. I was worried that them being all-plastic might deaden the sound, but it doesn't! The few dollars in price difference really adds up when I'm putting them on 29 strings. I've only got four at the moment, but I'm going to keep adding them to my Smartwood harp as I go. Installing them is precise, but it's not difficult, and the instructions are great. They also came with extra screws, which is really, really nice! Always impressed!
5 of 5 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
I love my new harp wheels.
Lydia
06/13/2017
Verified Buyer
The wheels are so helpful in aiding mobility and they are easy on-easy off! One less thing to worry about when out and about. There was not much lag time for arrival, a definite plus. The other thing that I really liked was the easy to open, not-excessive packaging. All in all, another positive experience. Thank you!
2 of 2 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Beautiful Relaxation Tool
Cindy Curry
06/08/2017
Verified Buyer
I've received my Reverie Harp. What a beautiful relaxation tool to add to my business, Healing Sounds Harpistry! The simplicity and ease of playing evoke such gentle, beautiful sounds, taking one out of left brain thinking and judgment that is associated with musical performance and instead to a state of relaxation for not only anyone for which the Harp is being played, but for the player as well. The shape, weight and overall design of the Reverie Harp are such inviting features that call to people to come pick up the Reverie Harp and begin. The customer service from Matt at Musicmakers was fantastic; it was wonderful to feel the attention and dedication to this purchase as if I were the only Musicmakers' customer, which we know is not the case for this wonderful company. Thank you for the perfect transaction, fast shipping and beautiful creation.
10 of 10 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
Harp Desk
Brenda Johnson
06/07/2017
Verified Buyer
Works great. I can read the music much easier.
5 of 5 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
harp wheels
C. Martin
06/07/2017
Verified Buyer
I think these are going to work just fine for my Dusty Strings Ravenna. I was hoping I could move it without having to remove the legs and platform that it sits on. This may be just the right fix.
4 of 4 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?
It sounds beautiful
brad
06/05/2017
Beautiful sounding strings!
Was this helpful?
Harp design book
Thomas D Lefler
06/04/2017
Verified Buyer
I am truly enjoying the book. I've found the information thorough and complete, well written and easily understood. Thank you, Tom
Was this helpful?
Tons of fun, easy to build!
Rob Zamites
06/04/2017
Only 4 stars, because the edge for gluing the sides was *extremely* narrow/thin. Took about 4 hours to fully assembled. I painted mine with black chalkboard paint so I can decorate the top as I feel; the back was also chalkboard painted, but I just signed the whole back with a chalkboard marker, then coated it with spray on lacquer :) At some point, I'd like to buy a few more, and offer an after school/weekend workshop for disadvantage youths. Thanks, Musicmakers!!
14 of 14 customers found this helpful.
Was this helpful?